The 9th September 2012 Khanacross and Junior Motorkhana results

Junior driver Matt Coulson continued on from the last event to again win the Douglas Shire Motor Sports Associationís Khanacross last Sunday.

Matt had a near perfect day picking up the fastest times on all but one of the ten runs to finish on a time of 735 seconds.

Despite trying hard all day, Mattís father Dave driving the same Ford Laser as Matt was unable to close the gap on his son and had to settle for second place on 767 seconds.

Coming in third, and easily his best result to date was local driver Greg Skyring in his Chrysler Galant. Gregís time of 801 seconds was 3 seconds ahead of the Holden Gemini of fourth placed Clayton Attwood.

Stick Quinn returned to the track for the first time in over a year and showed that he had lost none of his skill to power his Celica into fifth spot on a time of 821 seconds.

With Mattís win also giving him first in the junior class in the khanacross all eyes were on the close contest for second spot. In the end only one hundredth of a second separated second placed Dalín Smith and Joshua Coulson in third.

The Junior Motorkhana was won by Dírel Smith on a total time of 634 seconds ahead of Kara North, Jaidyn Farmer and Krystal Secker.

It was Dírelís first win this year and sees him sitting in third spot in the Motorkhana championship on 90 points just three points behind Jaidyn in second. Kara North is leading on 97 points.

Anthony Baldwin will have some work to do in the coming weeks after hitting a rut and spinning his Holden Commodore into the bank at Colt Corner causing damage to the front end. Anthony had planned to retire the car at the end of the year so it may have raced its last race.

The club is having a roll cage building day on 22nd September at Top End Paint and Panel and has five cars lined up to put a cage in.

The next race meeting is scheduled for 14th October at the Reef and Rainforest Track.




DSCN7879 DSCN7887 DSCN7901 DSCN7934 DSCN7943 DSCN7951 DSCN7953 DSCN7954 DSCN7966 DSCN8005 DSCN8007 DSCN8072 DSCN7856 DSCN7859 DSCN7866 DSCN7876

© Copyright DSMSA