29th April 2012 Khanacross and Junior Motorkhana Results

Drivers took to the Reef and Rainforest Track at North Mossman for the first time this year, on Sunday April 29th.

With rain threatening to wash out the event for the second time in two weeks all eyes were on the sky as competitors lined up at the start line.

Fortunately despite a few early showers the rain held off and track conditions were generally good.

Seven kids lined up in the club car for the Junior Motorkhana including Krystal Secker who was competing for the first time.

After 7 runs Cairns driver Joshua Coulson was the winner finishing on a time of 332 seconds ahead of Kara North on 345 seconds, with Jai Phillips rounding out the top three with a time of 372 seconds.

Both Josh and Kara turn 14 within the next 2 months and some of the younger drivers will be looking forward to seeing them moving up to the khanacross series.

A strong field of nineteen drivers lined up for the khanacross with defending Club Champion Stacie Stephensen once again running her trusty Hyundai Excel, but it was a Blue Oval clean sweep with Ford Lasers filling the top three places.

In first place was John Kenna who finished with an overall time of 533 seconds, closely followed by Scott Cahill on 544 seconds and Krista O’Dell on 552 seconds.
It was Krista’s first podium finish and her best result to date.

Krista’s 3rd outright also made her the first lady home ahead of Stacie Stephensen, Hayley Kenna and Melanie Irwin.

First in the 1600-2 litre class and a very creditable fourth outright was Dave Farmer on a time of 556 seconds, while the over 2 litre class saw another Ford victory with the Cortina of Bob Errey leading home the Commodore’s of Clinton Pike and Anthony Baldwin.

The highlight of the day was seeing long time club stalwart Shane North having his first run in nearly ten years. Despite finishing down the field, the smile on his face at the end of each run said it all.

The next event is a Khanacross and Junior Motorkhana and is scheduled for Sunday May 20th.



Copy of DSCF2135 Copy of DSCN4874 Copy of DSCN4878 Copy of DSCN4884 Copy of DSCN4886 Copy of DSCN4897 Copy of DSCN4911 DSCN4940 DSCN4953 DSCN4964 DSCN4989 DSCN5000 DSCN5007 DSCN5013 DSCN5043 DSCN5053 DSCN5063 DSCN5104 DSCN5105 P1040889

© Copyright DSMSA