26 April 2015 Khanacross and Junior Motorkhana results

The Douglas Shire Motor Sport Association welcomed four new junior members to its ranks at last Sundays khanacross and junior motorkhana.

With all four competing for the first time their were some butterflies as they lined up on the start line but it was not long before the nervous kangaroo hops were replaced with spinning wheels and revving engines.

Rhys Cooper set the early pace in the Burmack and Top End Paint and Panel sponsored club car, clocking fastest times on four of the first five runs. He unfortunately was only able to compete for half of the day allowing Lachie Adams to take the lead.

After twelve runs Lachie finished first on 583 seconds. Ashton Davenport drove consistently all day to finish in second place on 736 seconds while Carlin Cristaudo rounded out the top three on 838 seconds.

The khanacross was easserly won by Greg Erwin driving his Nissan Micra, while just eight tens of a second separated Greg Skyring’s Chrysler Gallant and Craig (Beaker) Barry’s Sukuki Swift.

Greg’s second place was his first podium finish for the year and continues his good form from last year where he finished third in the championship.

Beakers third place was also impressive as it was only his third event that he has competed in.

Tony Cristaudo recorded some fast times over the day but a penalty for a wrong direction on his first run relegated him to fourth place while Mark Shearer impressed finishing in the top five in only his first event.

Heath Barry won the junior class ahead of Kara North and Flynn Erwin.

Kara North was the best of the Ladies beating home Sonia Barry and Sophie May.

Club president, Bob Errey said that it was good to have new juniors joining the club. “It is great watching them learn to drive and becoming more confident behind the wheel,” he said. “It’s a great way for them to learn to drive in a safe and controlled environment”



DSCN0004 DSCN0006 DSCN0035 DSCN0041 DSCN0045 DSCN0047 DSCN0066 DSCN0069 DSCN0072 DSCN0075 DSCN0077 DSCN0078 DSCN0099 DSCN0107 DSCN9974 DSCN9977 DSCN9980 DSCN9984 DSCN9989 DSCN9995 RSCN0020

© Copyright DSMSA