The 23rd June 2013 Khanacross and Junior Motorkhana results

A good field off twenty-six drivers lined up on the grid for the Douglas Shire Motor Sports Associationís second khanacross and junior motorkhana for 2013.

With the track recently graded and just the right amount of moisture from recent rain it made for some quick times through out the day.

The club welcomed back several Cairns and Tableland drivers who had not competed for several years as well as three new junior competitors.

After finishing second in only her first event Cassidy Pumpa was able to go one better this time winning the junior motorkahana on a time of 397 seconds. Ryan Walker steered his way into second place on 435 seconds a mere two seconds ahead of third placed Tayla North.

Competing in their very first event were Drew Van Dyke, Lucas Hansson and Christopher Dwyer who all showed some early nerves by kangaroo hopping across the start line. How ever it was not long before their confidence grew and they were ripping up the track with Christopher even recording the fastest time on one run.

After eight runs Cairns driver Steve Van Der Brug showed the superior performance of his rally bred all wheel drive Subaru WRX to easily win the khanacross on a time of 441 seconds.

Local driver Bruce Perry also driving a Subaru finished second on 465 seconds while reigning club champion, Matt Coulson drove his trusty Ford Laser into third place on 472 seconds.

Bob Errey 480 seconds and Curly Hendry 490 seconds rounded out the top five. Atherton driver Megan Hendry finished in a very creditable 6th place and was first in the ladies class ahead of Stacie Stephensen and Kara North.

Stacie now has bragging rights at home as she beat home her partner Brad Rowsell by seventeen seconds in their newly acquired Toyota Camry.

Ben Van Der Brug and Josh Coulson finished 1st and 2nd in the junior class and a very creditable 7th and 10th outright.

Alex Russo took to the khanacross track for the first time and although being a little off the pace his times and confidence behind the wheel continued to improve throughout the day.

The Associations next event is on 14th July and new members are always welcome.

DSCN0001 DSCN0002 DSCN0004 DSCN0005 DSCN0008 DSCN0010 DSCN0014 DSCN0020 DSCN0021 DSCN0022 DSCN0025 DSCN0029 DSCN0031 DSCN0037 DSCN0038 DSCN0042 DSCN0043 DSCN0047 DSCN0048 DSCN0051 DSCN0068 DSCN0072 DSCN0094 DSCN9956 DSCN9960 DSCN9964

© Copyright DSMSA