The 19th October 2014 Khanacross and Junior Motorkhana results

The Douglas Shire Motor Sport Association held another successful club meeting last Sunday at its Reef and Rainforest Track at North Mossman.

Six juniors lined up for the motorkhana including first time drivers Toneisha Phillips and Ethan Bakker.
A redesign of the track layouts gave the event organisers the opportunity to run both the khanacross and junior motorkhana tracks at the same time, meaning that all drivers had more time behind the wheel, the juniors having fourteen runs- up from only seven at the last event.

Heath Barry drove superably to record fastest times on twelve of the fourteen runs to win the motorkhana on a time of 581 seconds.

Fynnian Lawson showed that he is now ready to step up to the big track by finishing second on a time of 645 seconds while Tayla North rounded out the top three.

Justin Van Dyk steered his Mossman Computing Hyundai to his maiden victory just eight seconds clear of second placed Bruce Perry.

Bruce was running in first for most of the day and had built up a sizeable lead but he incurred a penalty for a wrong direction on the third last run. The penalty cost him over thirty seconds and with only two tracks left he was unable to catch Justin.

Relative newcomer Greg Erwin drove his Nissan Micra well to finish in third. It was the Micra’s first run and so with a few improvements it should be a quick little car.

Greg’s son Flynn also drove well to finish second in the junior class behind Kara North, while Stacie Stephensen won the Ladies class and finished an impressive fourth outright.

Club members will travel to Mareeba in two weeks to compete in an interclub challenge against the Cairns based FNQ Motor Sport Club. The Associations next event will be a two-day event over the weekend of 22nd and 23rd November.


DSCN0375 DSCN0383 DSCN0399 DSCN0406 DSCN0412 DSCN0414 DSCN0417 DSCN0425 DSCN0438 DSCN0440 DSCN0445 DSCN0448 DSCN0450 DSCN0452 DSCN0462 DSCN0464 DSCN0466 DSCN0470 DSCN0484 DSCN0485 DSCN0508 DSCN0589 DSCN0593 DSCN0597 DSCN0629 DSCN0630

© Copyright DSMSA