The 17/18 October 2015 Khanacross results

Khanacross drivers from as far south as Mackay converged on the Reef and Rainforest Track at North Mossman over the weekend of the 17th and 18th for the fourth and final round of the 2015 NQ Khanacross Championship.

A strong field of 28 drivers lined up for the two-day event with the southern drivers keen to test their skills on the challenging Mossman track.

With several drivers still in the hunt for the championship, competition was expected to be fierce amongst the top drivers.

Racing started early on Saturday morning with the track dry and in good condition. Unfortunately a heavy shower of rain half way through the second run caused a one and half hour delay as the track was too wet to race on.

Racing eventually continued and the drivers set some fast and competitive times.

At the end of Saturdays competition Cairns driver Buddy King led the field by seven seconds in his Subaru WRX, ahead of rally legend Ross Dunkerton and the Nissan Micra of Greg Erwin.

Fourth and fifth spots were held by Mackay father and son, Warren and Wayne Morton

With drivers primed to go on Sunday morning more rain eventually caused the event to be cancelled without another wheel being turned.

So Saturdays results became the final results, and the championship points were tallied.

After the four rounds in Proserpine, Townsville, Mareeba and Mossman, Mackay driver, Warren Morton was crowned the 2015 champion on 30 points. Cairns driver and DSMSA member Greg Erwin was second on 29 points while Wayne Morton was third.

Local competitor Kara North finished second in the junior class and first ladies,
While Flynn Erwin finished third junior.

Event organiser Shane North said that it was very disappointing to get rained out on the Sunday. “We have competitors travel ten hours to get here and then have to call the event off early is very frustrating” he said, “Rain is the last thing you would expect in October”






DSCN0239 DSCN0241 DSCN0242 DSCN0217 DSCN0218 DSCN0221 DSCN0222 DSCN0225 DSCN0226 DSCN0229 DSCN0230 DSCN0231 DSCN0232 DSCN0233 DSCN0234 DSCN0236 DSCN0020 DSCN0023 DSCN0055 DSCN0070 DSCN0102 DSCN0110 DSCN0173 DSCN0197 DSCN0199 DSCN0215 DSCN9813 DSCN9815 DSCN9824 DSCN9828 DSCN9834 DSCN9841 DSCN9851 DSCN9857 DSCN9863 DSCN9874 DSCN9881 DSCN9891 DSCN9895 DSCN9903 DSCN9907 DSCN9913 DSCN9928 DSCN9935 DSCN9945 DSCN9952 DSCN9959 DSCN9964 DSCN9967 DSCN9970 DSCN9977 DSCN9985

© Copyright DSMSA