18th April 2021 Khanacross.

Sunday 18th April saw the Douglas Shire Motor Sport Association take to the track for the first time in 2021.

While it was the fourth round of this year’s championship the first three rounds had been washed out and drivers were keen to be back racing again.

Competition was fierce from the beginning with the top five drivers all recording fastest times over the day.

John Kenna powered his Subaru in to first place ahead of Heath Barry (Nissan Micra) and Bruce Perry (Subaru).

2020 club champion, Rick Ranscombe had a couple of uncharacteristic offs on the ninth and tenth runs recording slowest times and pushing him down to fourth outright.

Junior driver, Cain Perry continues to impress recording his first fastest time ever and finishing fifth out right.

In the rear wheel drive class it was a battle of who hit the least number of witches hats (thus incurring a five second penalty) with Rob Bassett sneaking in the win ahead of Bob Errey, Andy Wilson and Greg Skyring.

Mackenzie Barry was first in the Ladies Class.

This weekend sees members travelling to Proserpine to compete in the first round of the NQ Khanacross Series.

Photos by Kelly Davies

© Copyright DSMSA

18(1) 18(3) 18 18(6) 18(9) 18(17) 18(16) 18(4) 18(5) 18(2) 18(7) 18(8) 18(10) 18(11) 18(12) 18(13) 18(14) 18(15) 18(18) 18(19)