13th and 14th July 2019 Khanacross Interclub Challenge Round 2 results

The champagne was flowing at Reef and Rainforest Track last weekend as the Douglas Shire Motor Sports Association courageously defended their title in the Interclub Challenge against the FNQ Motor Sports Club.

The local club headed into the weekend as the under dogs having been comprehensively beaten by the Cairns club in the first round, 4 points to 16 at Herberton a month ago. The visitors only requiring a further 5 points to wrestle the trophy back.

But in true Queensland style the local drivers never gave up. With points on offer for the first five places outright plus for class wins the importance of finishing in the top five was paramount.

Led by an almost faultless drive by club champion, Heath Barry and abley supported by Rick Ranscombe, John Kenna and Greg Erwin the club finished with drivers in the top four places at the end of the weekends racing.

Steve Van der Brug was the best driver for the Cairns club finishing in fifth place outright and first rear wheel drive class, securing their only points for the round.

Krista Kenna won the Ladies class ahead of Kylie Madge and Mackenzie Barry.

By winning the round 18 points to 2 the club retained the Interclub Trophy 22 points to 18.

Club stalwart and passionate DSMSA member, Shane North was ecstatic after the win. “We done it” he said “We are the champions, again.”



ROUND 7 13th &14th JULY


Photos by Kelly Davies

DSCN7642 DSCN7635 DSCN7636 DSCN7638 DSCN7639 DSCN7641 DSCN7605 DSCN7369 DSCN7643 DSCN7524 DSCN7545 DSCN7358 DSCN7532 DSCN7531 DSCN7351 DSCN7350 DSCN7604 DSCN7342 DSCN7359 DSCN7363 DSCN7364 DSCN7374 DSCN7377 DSCN7385 DSCN7393 DSCN7399 DSCN7404 DSCN7409 DSCN7422 DSCN7431 DSCN7441 DSCN7460 DSCN7466 DSCN7472 DSCN7474 DSCN7477 DSCN7483 DSCN7487 DSCN7498 DSCN7502 DSCN7569 DSCN7572 DSCN7579 DSCN7580 DSCN7585 DSCN7587 DSCN7591 DSCN7620


© Copyright DSMSA