The Douglas Shire Motor Sports Association capped off an other successful year on 12 December 2011 with the final event for 2011 followed by the Clubs Christmas break up and annual trophy presentation.

The Khanacross, sponsored by Douglas Shire Gas Service was won by Cairns driver Steve Van der Brug who powered his Datsun 1600 across the finish line in a time of 568 seconds.
Local driver John Kenna was second in his Ford Laser on a time of 579 seconds.
Only one second separated third and fourth places with Stacie Stephensen on 605 seconds just nudging out Krista O'Dell who finished on 606 seconds. Krista's forth place was her best result to date and the first time two Ladies have finished in the top four..

The over 2 Litre class was hotly contested both on and off the track but it was Clinton Pike who took home the bragging rights beating home a much improved Anthony Baldwin, while Kelly Burke will spend the Christmas break rebuilding the gearbox in his Holden Commodore.

Despite Stacie only finishing in third place she was still able to win the yearly championship and was crowned 2011 Club Champion. Stacie's total of 135 points was well clear of second place Steve van der Brug who finished on 114 points, while John Kenna finished a further 3 points further back on 111 points. Dave Coulson, 101 points just beat his son Matt by one point to take fourth place.

In the Junior Motorkhana Kara North had her first win for the year beating Josh Coulson by half a second while D'rel Smith rounded out the top three. Kara's win on Saturday was not enough to elevate her in the overall points so it was Josh who won the 2011 Junior Motorkhana Championship on 154 points followed by Kara on 143 points and D'rel on 125 points.
Club President, Bob Errey said that "It had been a good year for the club and he was most impressed with how the standard of driving had improved, especially amongst the Junior drivers. Some of these twelve and thirteen year olds have the ability to be future club champions" he said.

The Club now takes a break from racing over the wet season but will be back on track once the rain stops and the track dries out.

10th December 2011 Khanacross results

10th December 2011 Junior Motorkhana Results



Club Champion Stacie Stephensen Junior Motorkhana Champion Joshua Coulson Jai Phillips Greg Skyring Kelly Burke Steve Van der Brug Daryl Smith Clayton Attwood Rob Hughes John Kenna Dave Coulson Clinton Pike Kelly Burke  Pit Stop? Melanie Irwin Anthony Baldwin Jai Phillips    Ryan Walker Spectators Spectators

Copyright DSMSA