2021 Annual Championship Results and Presentation

The Douglas Shire Motor Sports Association celebrated another successful year at its annual Christmas party and trophy presentation on 12th December.

Rick Ranscombe was crowned Club Champion for the third year in a row.
It was a dominant display by the Nissan driver who won every event except one this year. Ranscombe, who finished on 177 points becomes only the second club member to do so after Heath Barry held the title from 2016 to 2018.

Bruce Perry was second in the Championship on 150 points, his best result since taking out the title in 2014. This maybe partly due to the fact that he was pushed hard all year by his two teenage sons Cain and Seth who both beat him on occasions during the year.

In fact, Cain finished in third spot in the Championship on 143 points, only seven behind his father.

Reliability issues early in the year including a DNF back at the June round proved costly for Shane Buchanan, and a fourth in the Championship was not an accurate indication of his speed, particularly in the later part of the season.

Cain Perry won the Junior Championship on 117 points narrowly edging out his sibling by just two points, while Danial Andres was a model of consistency finishing third in every event that he competed in to finish third Junior.

Only four points separated the top four drivers in the Junior Motorkhana Championship with twelve year old Kai Furche winning on 44 points, Eli Smith was second on 42 points while brothers Jack-Kenny and Blake Nimmo tied for third spot on 40 points apiece

The Ladies Championship was won for the second year in a row by Mackenzie Barry on 70 points, Krista Kenna was second on 60 points, while Anet Ridley took the third spot on the podium with 40 points.

Rob Bassett was the clear winner in the Rear Wheel Drive class finishing on the top step of the podium at all but one event. Greg Skyring was second and Bob Errey a distant third.

Bassett was also presented with the Presidents Encouragement Award.

The Front Wheel Drive class was won by Rick Ranscombe on 119 points, ahead of Daniel Andrews 90 points and Mackenzie Barry 55 points.

The All Wheel Drive class was dominated by the Perry family with father and son duo Bruce and Cain finishing tied on 101 points. Seth Perry was third on 95 points.

The Club will now take a short break over Christmas with the first event for 2022 scheduled for 20th February.




DSCN4486 DSCN4488 DSCN4491 DSCN4483 DSCN4484 DSCN4458 DSCN4461 DSCN4400 DSCN4447 DSCN4449 DSCN4462 DSCN4463

© Copyright DSMSA