2017 Annual Championship Results and Presentation

At a star studded gala event at the Exchange Hotel in Mossman last Saturday, Heath Barry was crowned the Association’s 2017 Club Champion.

For the second year in a row Barry dominated the championship finishing on 190 points.

A very surprised Shane Buchanan showed that consistency pays off finishing second on 135 points while Steve Van der Brug was third, also for the second year in a row.

Just one point separated second and third places.

Rounding out the top five were Mario Russo and Anthony Baldwin.

In a short speech after accepting his trophy Heath thanked his sponsors and his Mum and Dad for their support through out the year.

Speaking after the presentation Shane Buchanan said that he was very surprised at doing so well this year. “I didn’t think I was anywhere near the top this year” he said

For third placed driver Steve Van der Brug, this year was all about sorting his Nissan 200 SX out after fitting a V8 to it over Christmas. “ Look out next year Heath” he said

Following in the footsteps of her older brother Mackenzie Barry was crowned the Junior Motorkhana Champion for 2017 ahead of Josh Yendle and Zed Thackray..

Other class winners were;
Ladies - Krista Kenna
Junior Khanacross – Heath Barry
Front wheel drive – Heath Barry
Rear wheel drive – Shane Buchanan
Four wheel drive – Graeme Colls

Josh Yendle was awarded the Presidents Encouragement Award

The presentation capped off another successful year for the club. As well as the local club events, members have competed away at regional and national titles this year and there is strong interest in next years Targa GBR





DSCN3744 DSCN3735 DSCN3736 DSCN3740 DSCN3737 DSCN3741 DSCN3742 DSCN3724 DSCN3714 DSCN3738 DSCN3728 DSCN3698 DSCN3743 DSCN3748 DSCN3750

© Copyright DSMSA