2016 Annual Championship Results and Presentation

The Association held its 2016 Christmas party and annual trophy presentation on Saturday 10th December at Craig and Sonia Barry’s place. As well as celebrating the achievements of club members throughout the year the club also celebrated its 20th birthday, having been formed in early 1996 and running its first event at Wonga in December of the same year.

At just fourteen years old Heath Barry was crowned the clubs youngest champion ever finishing on 181 points for the year. Keeping it in the family Heath’s father Craig finished second, 40 points adrift of his son.

Only one point separated third and fourth spots with Steve Van der Brug just pipping Greg Skyring for the last spot on the podium, while Anthony Baldwin rounded out the top five.

Winning three events and finishing second in two others, Heath has shown great skills this year. With the purchase of the ex-Greg Erwin Nissan Micra midway through the year he has shown great speed in a competitive car and is going to be hard to beat in 2017.

Zed Thackray was crowned the Junior Motorkhana champion for 2016 finishing on 94 points ahead of Josh Yendle 76 points and Elle Dunn 58 points.

There has been a bit of a resurgence in the junior ranks in the later part of the year and hopefully this will continue into 2017.

Other class winners were:
Junior Khanacross, Heath Barry150 points.
Rear wheel drive, Greg Skyring 106 points.
Front wheel drive, Heath Barry 142 points.
Ladies, Sonia Barry 127 points.

Greg Skyring was awarded the Presidents Encouragement Award (not that he needs any encouragement).

As well as the local club events, several members have competed away at regional and national titles this year.

The Australian Khanacross Championship was held in Proserpine with four members from the club making the long trip south. Despite his car not being well suited to the bitumen on the first day, Steve Van der Brug stormed home on the dirt on Sunday to finish second outright. Heath was placed 20th and 3rd Junior, Northy finished 23rd and Kara 28th and 2nd Ladies.

Steve also placed 2nd in the four round NQ Khanacross Series behind series winner Andrew Horn. Other results were Kara 1st Ladies, Heath 1st Junior, Northy 3rd U1600 Steve 1st over 2L and Bob 3rd over 2L.

The one result that continues to elude the club is the inter club challenge trophy against the FNQ Motor Sport Club. Although we improved our results this year it was still not a good enough effort to wrestle the trophy from the Cairns guys. Bring on 2017!!!

Thala Beach Resort kindly donated a voucher for a nights accommodation plus breakfast at the resort. This was given away as a lucky door prize on the night and was won by Ben Van der Brug. Rumour has it that he regifted it and gave it to his dad for his birthday. Nice one Ben.



DSCN0017 DSCN0045 DSCN0038 DSCN0034 DSCN0024 DSCN0025 DSCN0029 DSCN0041 DSCN9994 RSCN0053 RSCN0054 DSCN0003 DSCN0001

© Copyright DSMSA