2015 Annual Championship Results and Presentation

The Douglas Shire Motor Sports Association capped off a very successful year holding its annual trophy presentation and Christmas party at High Falls Farm last Saturday.

After ten rounds of racing Greg Erwin was crowned the 2015 club champion. Greg finished first in all but one of the ten khanacrosses the club ran through out the year giving him an almost perfect score of 199 points.

Proving this was no fluke Greg also finished second in the 2015 NQ khanacross series. The series was a four round event held in Mackay, Townsville, Mareeba and Mossman.

Also having an impressive year of racing was young junior driver Heath Barry. Although not having turned fifteen yet Heath finished second in the championship on 146 points.

Heath consistently beat older and more experienced drivers throughout the year and will be a driver to watch in coming years.

After years of trying Greg Skyring had his most successful year finishing third on 135 points.

Twelve-year-old Ashton Davenport took out the Junior Motorkhana championship on 104 points. Ashton missed the first three rounds as he was not old enough to compete.

Other class winner were: four wheel drive Buddy King, Rear wheel drive Greg Skyring, Front wheel drive Greg Erwin, Ladies Kara North, junior khanacross Heath Barry.

Sonia Barry was presented with the Presidents Encouragement Award

Club Champion, Greg Erwin said that it had been a great years racing. I have really enjoyed it and the competition in the club had been great, he said. Greg also thanked the committee for their work during the year.

The Association will take a break from racing over the wet season but will hit the track again next year.







DSCN1049 DSCN1065 DSCN1091 DSCN1100 DSCN1102 DSCN1104 DSCN1107 DSCN1112 DSCN1115 DSCN1119 DSCN1126 DSCN1127 DSCN1130 DSCN1133

Copyright DSMSA