The 14th December 2013 Khanacross and Junior Motorkhana results

A strong field of twenty-nine drivers including six former champions lined up for the Mossman Computing and Printing Khanacross and Junior Motorkhana last Saturday.

It was the final round of the 2013 championship for the Douglas Shire Motor Sports Association and the drivers were keen to hit the track.

In the championship 2009 winner, Bruce Perry came into the event with a two point lead over last years champ Matt Coulson. The pair traded fastest times throughout the day but a slow first run by Bruce saw him finish in fourth place for the day, nine seconds behind eventual winner Matt.

Matts winning time of 390 seconds was six seconds faster than his farther Dave, who finished on 396 seconds, followed in third place by John Kenna on 399 seconds.

Despite the reoccurrence of the clutch problems that have plagued him through out the year in his Hyundai Excel, Justin Van Dyk still managed to finish a credible seventh out right for the day and will be a driver to watch next year.

Another competitor to watch next year will be junior driver Cassidy Pumpa. Cassidy sacrificed her lead in the junior motorkhana (after some bad advice from Bob) to compete on the longer and faster khanacross track. Despite having never driven the club Falcon before she was able to show good car control and posted some impressive times.

Drew Van Dyk also showed great improvement to take out his first win in the junior motorkhana on 322 seconds. Krystal Secker on 357 seconds was second, followed closely by Tayla North on 358 seconds. Courtney Knight rounded out the top four.

Shane North competed for the first time this year and had so much fun he is still probably smiling.





DSCN1117 DSCN1132 DSCN1135 DSCN1145 DSCN1150 DSCN1154 DSCN1168 DSCN1172 DSCN1174 DSCN1180 DSCN1187 DSCN1189 DSCN1192 DSCN1201 DSCN1207 DSCN1213 DSCN1214 DSCN1216 DSCN1228 DSCN1242 DSCN1249 DSCN1251 DSCN1279 DSCN1280 DSCN1287 DSCN1290 DSCN1294 DSCN1312 DSCN1314 DSCN1320 DSCN1329

Copyright DSMSA